Home > Everyday Life > Pauvre Con! Merde! Putain! . . . . I’m sorry did I offend you?

Pauvre Con! Merde! Putain! . . . . I’m sorry did I offend you?

Sorry, did I offend you?

Sorry, did I offend you?

So my little thought for today is this brief article I read.   It simply discussed how comfortable the French are with profanities.  They use them regularly and don’t flinch when they are heard by others.  Of course I am still integrating myself into the French vernacular so I can’t really bear witness to this phenomenon.  I will definitely have to report back to you on this post later this fall.  Highlights of this article that prove the point are public figures freely using them in front of the press.  Take the dynamic president Sarkozy who called another individual a pauvre con (poor little piece of female anatomy) for refusing to shake hands with him.  Even the priest at the local Antibes Cathedral openly confided with a reporter that his favorite profanity is merde (shit).  Well at least everyone’s thoughts are clear here in France; they aren’t one to hold back.  If it is too much to take then I’d advice to go north and have tea with the queen.

Feel free to read the snippet on page 9 by downloading the full PDF of the Riviera Reporter.

Categories: Everyday Life
  1. Alexis T
    9 June 2010 at 5:58 pm

    Although you’re right about one of the meaning of “con”, the translation of the famous President Sarkozy’s full quote: “Casse-toi, pauvre con” would be “Beat it, jerk!”
    PS: You won’t hear any beeps to cover profanity on French TV. Yesterday, P. Diddy was a guest at an early evening talk show (7-8:30pm). He was invited by the show host to say some profanities, given the fact they wouldn’t be censored…

  2. London
    9 June 2010 at 7:55 pm

    Good feedback Alexis but I will still use that word wisely around here. 😉 Ironically I pulled my definition of the word from wordreference.com.

  3. Clara Laurent
    22 November 2010 at 11:17 am

    I am french and I must admit, as you already know, that I often swear… Although I think of myself as a sophisticated lady 😉

    Just a comment: our current President has shoked France with his curse to a quidam. A President shouldn’t curse in his public life, and shouldn’t insult his citizens, and it is not seen as a “normal” behaviour.
    Merde, alors!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

