Home > Everyday Life > The Blues

The Blues

As I am writing this post, France is playing in the first round of the World Cup.

FIFA World Cup 2010

FIFA World Cup 2010

If you can believe it, I actually have the game on in my hotel room.  I can’t help but be curious about this game that the world worships.  Of course I need to a drinking buddy at this point to really enjoy the game at a local bar.  I’m sure I will find one soon enough.  The game just ended without a winner as the score ended 0-0.  Les Bleus, as the French are called, couldn’t pull off a single goal against Uruguay.  Ironically the other match of South Africa and Mexico ended in a tie of 1-1.  I’m still learning this game so I don’t know exactly what happens next without a clear winner.

The other blue in my life today was the color of the sea from the view in my new apartment.  I am happy to have this step behind me and officially have a residence in France.  It was a long day as I did a split-shift at work.  I went in first for a few hours in the morning and then drove to Nice along with my relocation agent provided by Amadeus.  We had to go into the heart of Nice to the real estate office.  Of course it was a challenge to find some parking but finally we arrived at the office.  Of course I signed my life away and cleaned out my bank account.  Then we had to drive to the west side of the city where my apartment resides.  Then we had a walk-thru of the apartment with a 3rd party and spent an hour writing every nick, scratch, broken whatever, light switch, electric plug, and shelf that exists in the apartment.  The French are very anal about this transition into a given apartment.  If you don’t note all these details on the walk-thru, you will be held liable for these imperfections even though everyone knows it existed before you moved in.  Again, I am so lucky to have the relocation agent provided by Amadeus.  She does this for a living and of course speaks fluent French (she is actually Swedish by birth).  She was very anal with the other woman who was representing the agency.  In the end I received the keys officially claiming the apartment as mine.

Kitchen

Kitchen

Finally we finished the walk-thru and then I went off to find the parking agency.  I need to rent a parking space that is in walking distance of the apartment.  Of course the main office isn’t in my neighborhood, it is again back in the center of Nice by the train station.  At this point, my relocation agent had to leave me (she had another appointment) so I was on my own.  Luckily she had already called the office that morning so they knew I was coming.  After I arrived in that neighborhood, it was murder to find a parking spot.  I circled and circled waiting for someone to pull out.  I had three (3) near opportunities but someone else always beat me.  Finally one opened right in front of the parking agency.  I got that all taken care and received another key.  At this point it was 3:00 in the afternoon without a lunch; I was starving and thirsty to say the least.

I headed back to my hotel real quick for a sandwich and to do some bank transactions on-line.  Then headed back to work to put in a few more hours as I had only taken a half-day today.  Of course it is hard to appreciate this journey not living here with the traffic and distance covered, it was definitely a long day.  I can’t wait to hit my bed after I complete this post.

Bathroom

Bathroom

In the end I feel so relieved.  Mainly because now that I have a Bail d’Habitation (proof of residence) so many other doors open up for me.  So many things here in France require that proof of residence before they will even talk to you about purchasing whatever it is they are selling.  For example for me to buy my monthly bus pass to get me back and forth to work – I have to present a proof of residence.  Imagine SEPTA demanding your apartment lease before allowing you to buy a Transpass.

As far as my few things that are being shipped here from Philadelphia, they were just collected and boxed them this past Tuesday with the assistance of my best friend Jonathan.  By the time it passes American customs, crosses the Atlantic by boat and pass French customs, it may be July before I have my things.  Patience, patience, patience.

So what am I doing this weekend?  Going car shopping . . . .

Categories: Everyday Life
  1. Laurie Mathie
    14 June 2010 at 3:57 am

    this is from Tom – where is the picture of your view of the sea????? 🙂

  2. London
    14 June 2010 at 6:58 am

    Check out my pics on Facebook, there are more there.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

