Home > Everyday Life > I Got All Three . . . Twingo!

I Got All Three . . . Twingo!

No Twingo is not a board game, it is a car and a French one at that.

Renault Twingo

Renault Twingo

So I had posted earlier that once I get the three (3) essentials here in France I will finally feel settled.  I got the cell phone and Friday I signed on an apartment and officially have the keys.  The third task, buying a car, finally got completed yesterday (Saturday).  I found a nice Renault Twingo Helios with a diseal engine.  I did do a little shopping around starting off at a Toyota dealership as they advertised a good 1 year warrantee on their used cars.   I was a bit shocked at the status of used cars here in France.  Knicks and scratchs are all too common here, even on the used cars.  The dealer didn’t seemed to do anything to try to cover them up.  Any American would be equally shocked at their condition that they attempt to sell used cars.  Of course I did realize this phenomeneon rather quickly upon arriving in France and that is why I wanted a used car to begin with – it is only a matter of time before I get my first dent, scratch or scrape.  Another factor is I just wanted a cheaper insurance option in comparison to a new car.  In any case, I went further exploring and hit a Renault dealership closer to work.  There I found my prize (cute video). I am happy with my purchase and was able to get a little credit to cover the price of the car – something I got a little nervous since I have only been in this country for 2 weeks.  Of course the fact I work at Amadeus helps a lot; every time I bring out a copy of my work contract they seem to breath a sigh of relief.  They know I am secure.  Renault also offered a one year warrantee.

I also spent Sunday going to my new apartment and get a few things ready.  I wanted to clean up the place and started moving in my clothes as I have ample closet space.  One little barrior I had was that they completely installed a brand new entry door to the building.  So on Friday, the keys that they gave me were to the old door.  Now with the new electronic door I now have to go to the Syndie de Copropriété, the office that manages the building as a whole.  The beauty of France is that everything has specific hours of being open.  This Syndie has the hours of 2:00 p.m. to 5:00 p.m.  Luckily the office is literally across the street from my apartment . . . but don’t forget my office is 22km down the interstate.  So I got to negogiate with my boss tomorrow to see if I can take a long lunch hour to go down and back; or something like that.  In the end, I am very happy with my apartment.  Once I get some furniture in there I will be having people over for some nice parties.  Of course you are welcome to come them as well; don’t forget there is a non-stop flight from JFK to Nice. 😉

I will end today admiting that I experienced some anxious feelings today.  It is one thing to feel relief having the big three (cell, apartment, car) but it is another to wake up and realize this thing is real.  Wow, I really am in France and staying. I did feel a little scared because it is such a new beginning for me.  Trust me, these are not second thoughts – I still have no regrets.  I am just admitting I am human and cycle of emotions we go through.

Categories: Everyday Life
  1. Laurie Mathie
    14 June 2010 at 4:02 am

    YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! you rock, baby!!! i am so IMPRESSED!!!! i completely see how you would be anxious b/c listen, my friend, you get the organization award for the year! i’m so surprised how quickly the major things have come together for you – you adjusting to a TON – so it makes sense that you’d be a little overwhelmed from time to time. YOU WORLD IS UPSIDE DOWN IN THE MOST WONDERFUL WAY! and, i have to add, my (our, b/c i read your blog to Tom) life (es) are even being shaped and expanded by your brave new world! love you!

  2. London
    14 June 2010 at 6:59 am

    Love you too! Miss you guys.

  3. Scott in Philly
    16 June 2010 at 1:39 pm

    Cute car, haha… Miss you too!

  1. 17 June 2010 at 8:11 pm

Leave a Reply

