Home > Everyday Life > Wash Your Hands . . . You Latin!

Wash Your Hands . . . You Latin!

Yea, I found out some not so pleasant news today.

I just found out this region of France is notorious for gastro viruses – my favorite!  I will take a head cold, sinus pressure, sore throat, anything over a nasty stomach virus.  I swear they are worst.  Now I am at one of the epicenters of this virus.  My colleagues couldn’t explain why, but does have a high frequency in the Côte d’Azur.  Some of my colleagues were complaining of just getting over it.  Well at least that explains why there are huge posters in every bathroom at Amadeus on how to wash your hands properly.  It is the single best way of prevention.

Stomach Virus

Stomach Virus

I did a little research online and to find several articles on the this problem in France.  I know it is french, but by reading the headline of this article you can still get the point.  They even had a map of France with the color red showing which areas were hit the hardest and Côte d’Azur was bright red.

Interestingly the doctors here in France are really in control of your sickness/health.  When you go see your doctor you must ask for an arrête de travail, which is a document verifying that you are sick and how many days you need to stay at home.  French law requires that you as a citizen and your employer comply with your arrête de travail.  If you come back to work early (as one of my co-workers did) because you better than expected, then you will actually get into trouble.  When the doctor say “stay home“, he truly has the power to enforce it.

Well this is a reality check and it sure can’t be heaven here. 😉  I will just have to make sure to wash my hands and wash my vegetables with vinegar.

Other sobering news, I came up with my French personal budget today now that I know what are my impôts (taxes) and my fractures (bills) are going to be.  I am not that crazy about it but at least I am not poor!  I’ve allocated appropriate funds for my wine reserves. 😉

Categories: Everyday Life
  1. karen
    14 June 2010 at 9:54 pm

    Do i need to create international wash your hands posters for france? Happy to come over to post them!
    i will have IC get on this right away

  2. Scott in Philly
    16 June 2010 at 1:05 pm

    Ooh, wine reserves, isn’t it like water?

  3. London
    16 June 2010 at 1:59 pm

    a bottle of water, a bottle of wine . . . it is all the same price. 😛

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

